Such Hot Blood

I had the good fortune to see The Airborne Toxic Event play here in Toronto recently. If you’re listening to alternative radio stations, you probably know Changing from their All At Once album in ’11. Or maybe you heard Sometime Around Midnight from their ’09 self titled album.

TATE was amazing. The lead singer Mikel, has the most incredible voice. The addition of a viola to some of their tracks is a combination that I’m magnetically pulled to.

I dropped Safe and Bride & Groom from Such Hot Blood onto my latest running playlist for a little extra groove in my step. Check it out! And if you haven’t heard Sometime Around Midnight, give it a listen. The crowd went nuts when they played this. It’s powerfully sung and also truly excellent for nighttime highway driving. Turn it up and play it LOUD.

20130521-224941.jpg

For more great music and far better writing about it than this, wander on over to Lithium Magazine

One final parting note – the opening band for TATE was Kodaline. Watch this band. I think they could be on the road to greatness.

Leave a comment